Training

Please note, all training is free and will take place virtually via MS Teams unless otherwise specified. 

 

Practitioner Update training:

This training is to update existing NCSCT accredited advisors who are delivering a stop smoking service. 

Recommended for all advisors to attend at least once a year.

Thursday 29th September (1pm – 4pm)

 

Level 2 Stop Smoking Practitioner training :

This training is for new stop smoking practitioners who have completed the online NCSCT practitioner training

Wednesday 11th May (9am – 5pm) & Thursday 12th May (9.30am – 11.30am)

Tuesday 21st June (9am – 5pm)

Wednesday 6th July (9am – 5pm)

Wednesday 14th Sept (9am – 5pm) & Thursday 15th Sept (9.30am – 11.30am)

Tuesday 8th Nov (9am – 5pm)

Very Brief Advice (VBA) training :

VBA is a simple piece of advice that can be used opportunistically in almost any consultation with a smoker, and takes less than 30 seconds. This training is for anyone who engages with smokers. 

Wednesday 12th July (9.30am – 12.30pm) 

CPD Lunchtime :

Pharmacotherapy

Wednesday 27th April (12.30pm – 1.30pm) 

Data

Wednesday 18th May (12.30pm – 1.30pm) 

Mental Health

Wednesday 22nd June (12.30pm – 1.30pm) 

Pregnancy

Wednesday 13th July (12.30pm – 1.30pm) 

Please see below for online training modules to help support you with providing smoking cessation advice to patients.

Online Practitioner Course

1. Practitioner Training: Core competences in helping people stop smoking (Learning element)

2. Assessment of core knowledge and key practice skills (Assessment)

https://elearning.ncsct.co.uk/england

Very Brief Advice (VBA) on Smoking

VBA is a simple form of advice designed to be used opportunistically in less than 30 seconds in almost any consultation with a smoker.
https://elearning.ncsct.co.uk/vba-launch

 

Very Brief Advice (VBA) – on Smoking for Pregnant Women

Smoking in pregnancy poses significant health risks to the mother and to the baby. VBA is a proven intervention that has the potential to improve the health, and even save the life, of both mother & baby
https://elearning.ncsct.co.uk/vba_pregnancy-launch

 

Very Brief Advice (VBA) – on Secondhand Smoke: promoting smoke free homes and cars

This training module has been developed by the NCSCT to teach health professionals how best to raise the issue of secondhand smoke exposure and promote smokefree homes and cars.
https://elearning.ncsct.co.uk/shs_vba-launch